“rid your devils” —wild child

Happy New Year!

It’s been awhile, but I just wanted to write down my goals for the year so I could have them somewhere that isn’t a random scrap of paper or one of the many little notebooks I keep in my purse or around the house or whatever, so I can find it later.

  1. Create more. I was building tiny scale models and painting inspirational quotes and greeting cards around Christmastime and it was nice, idk, to make things happen on canvas and paper. It’s also really… calming, I guess, to have something to concentrate on. At first I was thinking I should specifically paint more in 2017 but if I think about it I feel that way when I’m baking, too, or decorating cookies or whatever, so I just want to keep creating. It’s pretty cool to be able to make something where before there was nothing.
  2. Go outside more. When I was in college, whenever I got really stressed out over a problem set or a paper or was just in general inside my own head too much I would walk away from what I was doing and sit outside for awhile. It’s a good way to get some perspective, and remind myself that the world is a lot bigger than whatever I had going on in that moment. I don’t know if that would be calming for everyone but it definitely is for me. These days, there are times where I literally do not leave the house for days, and I just sit around at home feeling useless and horrible about everything, but then when I finally do leave the house (even if it’s to drive my sister somewhere or run an errand for my mom) it’s like I can breathe again and I feel better about things. I don’t know why I keep forgetting that it helps. Somehow, in college it was just a lot easier to remember to do go outside for a bit when things got to be too much.
  3. Get a job. I hate making this a goal but I do think it’s important. If I’m unhappy with the state of things currently, I should do something to change it, right? If I feel like I wake up every day and there’s no reason, I should find some, or at the very least, have something to do every day that gets me up and into the world.
  4. Eat better and exercise more. This is pretty broad, pretty vague, but… oh well. On eating better: The idea, basically, is to stop punishing myself when it comes to food. Stop refusing to eat for no reason, stop eating a bunch of random crap, stop making myself sick in these ways. Make myself real food, eat only when I’m hungry, etc
    And on exercising more: I guess the idea is just to do more. More than my current “nothing” shouldn’t be so hard, right? Whether it’s taking a twenty minute walk a couple times a week or actually doing some of the Daily Burn stuff Jess has been trying to get us to do for months, I know I should (and actively want to) do more.

I think that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

